European Festival Awards 2015


European Festival Awards 2014

EFA_2014_Date_webThe 6th Festival Awards Europe are done and dusted and at a star studded gala celebration at De Oosterport on January 14th at the start of this year’s EuroSonic festival and conference in Groningen, host Ben Challis welcomed guests and winners and live performances from MØ (Denmark), Jack Garratt (UK) and Aurora Asknes (Sweden) – as well as a special surprise opening act, The Illegal Terms, made up of Ben on vocals, Michal Kaščák, organiser of the Pohoda Festival on drums, Open Air St Gallen’s organiser Christof Huber on guitar alongside Virtual Festivals’ Steve Jenner, and Das Fest booker and boss of Green Events Europe, Holger Jan Schmidt, on bass. The Illegal Terms gave barnstorming renditions of ‘Blittzkrieg Bop’ and ‘I Fought The Law’.


Live video footage from the Illegal terms can be found here for I Fought The Law and here for Blitzgrieg Bop and video footage from the Awards ceremony can be found here for the Lifetime Achievement Award (Melvin Benn, Festival Republic ) and Rikke Øxner (Roskilde) wins the new Award for Excellence & Passion here .

Sponsoring partners for the Awards included hosts Yourope, the European festivals association, EuroSonic and Eventbrite, Intelligent Venue Solutions, Plug Go and Snack Media. With over 1.2 milllion votes cast in the public categories this year, the Arctic Monkey’s won two awards for Headliner of the Year and Festival Anthem of the Year, collected on the night by the bands long time manager Geoff Barradale. Hungary’s Sziget won Best Major Festival, Glastonbury picked up the Best Lineup Award for their Metallica and Dolly Parton inspired summer bash, and Stromae picked up best newcomer.

efas2015cBest Small European Festival – Festival Tuaron Nowa Muzyka (Poland)

Best Indoor Festival – I love Techno (Belgium)

The Green Operations Award – Roskilde Festival (Denmark)

Newcomer Of The Year – Stromae

Artist’s Favourite European Festival – Primavera Sound in Barcelona (Spain)

efas2015eBest New European Festival – Down the Rabbit Hole (The Nederlands

Festival Anthem of the Year – Arctic Monkeys – R U Mine

YES Group H&S Innovation Award – Mojo Concerts

Best Medium-Sized European Festival – Sea Dance Festival (Montenegro)

Promoter Of The Year – Live Nation (Belgium)

Best European Festival Line-Up – Glastonbury Festival (UK)

efas2015dBest Headliner – Arctic Monkeys

Best Major European Festival – Sziget (Hungary)

Lifetime Achievement Award – Melvin Benn

Award For Excellence And Passion – Rikke Oxner

Festival Congress, Cardiff, October 2014

festuval congressFestival Congress 2014 : Yourope & AIF Standard Artist Terms & Conditions – a presentation by Ben Challis can be found here

The night before Ben hosted the first ever Festival Congress Awards in Cardiff

And here’s a subsequent article on the Live Music Exchange by Ben “Changing Horses – on track with the Riderless contract” – a guest blog post is by Ben about the European festival association Yourope’s Standard Terms (The Yourope Standard Terms) for festivals booking artists and performers for live performances. The aim of the Terms is to protect promoters from signing contracts which force them to provide services/Riders which the promoter does not see until after the contract has been signed, but the Terms also include standardised clauses around issues such as weather, security, and backline provision.



European Festival Awards 2013

The Festival Awards Europe ceremony took place on the evening of Wednesday January 15th at Da Oosterpoort in Groningen at the EuroSonic Noorderslag convention and festival. The event uniquely recognises the success of the European festival market – and the artists who play at festivals. This year 625,000 festival fans voted for the Awards – although four awards (The new YES  safety awards, the artist’s Favourite Festival award, the GO Group Green Operations award and the Lifetime Achievement award are  decided by expert juries. In some categories a shortlist is provided for the fan’s to vote from. Winners this year included Melt! Festival (Germany), Way Out West (Sweden), Exit Festival (Serbia), Lowlands (Netherlands), Metal Hammer Festival (Germany), Fusion (Romania) and (Hungary), Berlin Music Festival (Germany), Paleo Festival (Switzerland)  and artist awards went to Daft Punk (Festival Anthem of the year), The Arctic Monkeys (best headliner) and Imagine Dragons (best new act). All the highlights on YouTube here.

Videos here (Best New Festival) and here (Best Medium Sized Festival) and artists Favourite Festival, Best Major Festival and Best Small Festival.

Festival Awards host Ben Challis

Festival Awards host Ben Challis

Way Out West

Way Out West

Exit Festival

Exit Festival

Metal Hammer Paradise collect their award

Metal Hammer Paradise collect their award

Daft Punk lr

Interview with Ben Challis

City University’ LawBore did an interview with Ben in 2009 – you can see that here

“Part of a series of videos filmed specially for Lawbore Future Lawyer, which give law students an insight into how some of the City Law School’s extraordinary alumni have turned out. In this one, Ben Challis, an entertainment lawyer, tells us how he made it into the field, about his current and most recent roles (one of 2 lawyers for the Glastonbury Festival, lecturer in law, specialist in live events and television, General Counsel for 3A Entertainments AND editor for the great A pretty inspiring guy.”

Roger the Mascot win Croatian trip

roger the mascotMansfield band Roger the Mascot have won the All About The Music competition to find a UK band to play at Croatia’s InMusic Festival. The four piece fought off stiff competition from Birmingham’s Cold Fields, Day Release from Coventry, Sheffield’s Twin Bears and London based The Strangers to win the trip in June. Other acts appearing on the night at the Assembly Rooms in Leamington Spa were exciting new Croatian band Achromatic Attic and local heroes The Antics, with the shebang sponsored by EU Fest and Band Crusade and hosted by Ben Challis.

InMusic, held at Lake Jarun in Zagreb is headlined by the Arctic Monkeys, Basement Jaxx, Bloc Party, Editors and Iggy & The Stooges in 2013

The International Live Music Awards 2013 – The Arthurs

Ben Challis at the Arthurs 2013

Ben Challis at the Arthurs 2013

On March 9th 2013 Ben Challis hosted the International Live Music Awards at the Savoy Hotel’s Riverside Ballroom in London at a roaring 20s themed evening. Starring 78RPM and The Bees Knees, Ben took to the stage at about 10pm for a fun packed night – the 25th Anniversary Arthur Awards – you can stream the whole show (49 minutes) here .

Ed Bicknell and Herman Schueremans

Ed Bicknell and Herman Schueremans

Photos (c) 2013 ILMC
Ben with Lucy Noble, The Royal Albert Hall

Ben with Lucy Noble, The Royal Albert Hall